The Governing Board of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) at its inaugural meeting of Friday, May 27, 1977 which held at the National Institute for International Affairs, Victoria Island, Lagos resolved amongst others to structure the Board's Secretariat into four departments and a unit namely: Programmes, Planning, Finance, Administration and Audit Section.


In July 2015, the Programmes department was split into two namely: Polytechnic Programmes and Vocational, Technical and Skills Development departments. The new structure became operational at the end of August 2015. The Polytechnic Programmes department which has 28 staff is headed by an Ag. Director, Mal. Musa M Isgogo.


The department is also structured into six (6) divisions and each division is headed by a deputy director as follows; Science and Technology Division, Mr. Fidelis Ogbonna; Programmes Support Division, Mal. Musa Mohammed Isgogo; Applied Arts and Communication Division, Mal. Nalado Garba Mohammed; Engineering Technology Division, Engr. Mohammed Abba Danmowa, Alh Mohammed Mustapha, Management & Social Sciences and Arc. Ogoh Ngbede, a Chief Programmes Officer oversees Environmental Technology divisions.



To be an arrow-head for the promotion of qualitative Tertiary Technical Education and Training in Nigeria”;



“To continually promote the production of appropriate regulatory framework for the production of skilled tertiary technical and professional manpower for the development and sustenance of the National Economy through accreditation and monitoring exercise and other forms of desirable standardization processes”.


Functions of the Department

The functions of the Polytechnic Programmes Department include the following;

  • Generate policies for the development and reformation of the tertiary technical education system particularly in relation to the Polytechnic system;
  • Advice on the general programmes that may be run in the polytechnics and related tertiary technical education systems;
  • Determine and advise on entry requirements and duration of training for the various programmes to be run in the Polytechnics and similar tertiary institution in the Country;
  • Prepare and review standards and criteria for the establishment of tertiary technical institutions including requirements for mounting various programmes in the institutions;
  • Produce National Minimum Standard Curricula and Course Specifications for the various programmes to be run to tertiary level by the various institutions under the Board's supervision;
  • Schedule and carry out advisory, resources inspection and accreditation visitations and other forms of quality assurance activities to tertiary technical training institutions under the Board's purview;
  • Evolve and regulate a system of National Certification for tertiary technical qualifications;
  • Organize and coordinate consultative meetings and other forms of quality assurance workshops with relevant stakeholders;
  • Monitor compliance to quality assurance regulations;
  • Liaise with tertiary technical institutions in matters relating to academic programmes;
  • Coordinate adaptive technology research;
  • Produce and publish necessary information as are proper guideline for the academic life of the tertiary technical institutions; and
  • Provide secretarial service to the Programmes Evaluation and Development Committee of the Board.


Policy Generation:

The department generated policy input on the following:

  • Acceptance of Registered Deed of Assignment (DoA)as alternate to Certificate of Occupancy (CoO) for establishment of Private Polytechnics and Monotechnics
  • Preparation of Guideline for Assessing Publications
  • Change in Nomenclature of some Diploma Programmes
  • Industrial Work Experience Scheme for Academic Staff of technological institutions.
  • Guidelines for establishment of Non-Technology – based Monotechnics
  • Guidelines for Establishment of foreign – based Nigerian Institutions
  • Guidelines for Multi-Sectoralism in Innovation Enterprise Institutions

The first four have been approved by the Board and are in operation whilst the others are still being considered.